IRDG Committee, and period of office

The following are proposed with a view to ensuring continuity of purpose and a vibrant group.

- (i) Each member shall normally serve on the committee for a period of 3 years before leaving or being re-elected.
- (ii) Seven consecutive years on the committee shall be the normal maximum (i.e. 2 periods of office plus up to one year overlap period for treasurer, secretary or chairman) any member might be expected to serve.
- (iii) For chairman, secretary and treasurer it is hoped that there will be one year of overlap between the out-going and in-coming officers.
- (iv) The number of members on the committee shall be flexible and determined by needs as perceived by the committee at any time but might be expected to be about 6.
- (v) Two members would normally be elected each year.
- (vi) The secretary and chairman are automatically members of the ABS committee. At least one should attend each ABS meeting (normally 3 per year). In the event of this proving inconvenient another member of the committee shall be delegated to attend.
- (vii) The traditional meetings of the IRDG are 3 per year at Christmas, at Easter and an industrial meeting in the Autumn. Additional meetings, such as a Northern meeting, or joint meetings (Chemometrics, near i.r. etc.) are held as needs are perceived. It is usual for one committee member to undertake the organisation. He/she is responsible for that meeting and need not seek committee approval for adjustments of content, invitation of speakers etc. unless there are significant financial implications.